Competency Triangle Graphic

The ECiDC core curriculum focuses on advanced training in four competency areas needed to meet the needs of infants and young children with high, intensive, interdisciplinary, and individualized learning needs:

(a) Population-Specific Pedagogy
(b) Research and Scholarship
(c) Teaching and Education
(d) Community Engagement and Service

View the ECiDC Handbook

All scholars participate in webinars, intensive summer institutes on research methodology and application, pre-conference seminars on faculty development at the Division for Early Childhood annual meetings, and online modules on emerging evidence-based practices for the target population of infants and young children.

Year 1 - 2
Population-Specific Pedagogy

• Family-Centered Practice and Cultural Competence

• Interdisciplinary Collaborations

• Systematic, Direct, and Data-Based Interventions in Communication and Social Competence

• Inclusive Learning Environments

Year 2-3
Research and Scholarship

• Research Analysis, Synthesis and Application to Practice

• Advanced Research Methods

• Implementation Science

• Writing for Publication

• Writing Grants

Year 2 - 3
Teaching and Education

• Evidenced Based IHE Personnel Preparation Programs

• Adult Learning Principles

• Mentorship and Supervision

• Instructional Technology

Year 3 - 4
Community Engagement and Service

• State and National Impact

• Policy Analysis

• System Change

• Faculty Induction